Forum Schedule

The Forum is primarily aimed at Postgraduate Students, both Taught and Research, within CAHA, but we welcome anybody from across the School of History and Cultures. The format for the forum is usually a 15 to 30-minute paper, followed by questions. However, we also welcome a range of ideas including roundtable discussions, interdisciplinary workshops, or practical sessions (pottery handling sessions in previous years have been very well received). We are currently taking submissions for the coming year.

The Forum is open to everyone and meets weekly on Tuesdays in term time at 5:00pm in the Peter Gelling Library (Arts 335) in the Arts Building at the University of Birmingham. For up-to-date news join our Facebook group or follow us on Twitter.

We are currently taking submissions for the Forum. If you have a paper in mind then please get involved!

Semester 1

Week 1: Tuesday 26th September
  • Welcome Event (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 2: Tuesday 3rd October
  • The Rosetta Journal: How to Get Involved in Academic Publication (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 3: Tuesday 10th October
  • TBC (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 4: Tuesday 17th October
  • TBC (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 5: Tuesday 24th October
  • Birmingham Assyriology – Cuneiform Writing and Tablet Making Workshop (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 6: Tuesday 31st October
  • No Forum due to Reading Week
Week 7: Tuesday 7th November
  • Kerrie Myers – Exorcising Babylonian Demons for Dummies (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 8: Tuesday 14th November
  • TBC (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 9: Tuesday 21st November
  • TBC (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 10: Tuesday 28th November
  • TBC (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 11: Tuesday 5th December
  • Saturnalia: The Ancient Origins of Christmas (Peter Gelling Library)