Forum Schedule

The Forum is open to everyone and meets weekly on Tuesdays in term time at 5:30pm in the Rodney Hilton Library Arts 335 (we relocated from the Peter Gelling Library Arts 315 halfway through semester 1) in the Arts Building at the University of Birmingham. For up-to-date news join our Facebook group or follow us on Twitter.

We are currently taking submissions for the Forum. If you have a paper in mind then please get involved!

Semester 2

Week 1: Tuesday 12th January
  • Dr. Jennifer Palmer: Conference Worshop
Week 2: Tuesday 19th January
  • Roundtable Discussion: New Frontiers
Week 3: Tuesday 26th January
  • Nicola Apps: The Development of the Depiction of Women on Cylinder Seals
Week 4: Tuesday 2nd February
  • Guy Kirkham-Smith: A Synaesthetic Approach to Greek Verse
Week 5: Tuesday 9th February
  • Orieji Bright: Oral Traditions as History: Interpretation and Validity
Week 6: Tuesday 16th February
  • No Forum due to Reading Week

Weeks 7-11 to be confirmed

Semester 1

Week 1: Tuesday 29th September
  • Welcome Event – CAHA Quiz! (Arts Lounge)
Week 2: Tuesday 6th October
  • Launch of latest Rosetta Journal issue! Committee Introduction (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 3: Tuesday 13th October
  • Joseph Parsonage: Romanos Lekapenos - Byzantium's First Aristocratic Emperor (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 4: Tuesday 20th October
  • Ruth Léger: Postgraduate Funding (Peter Gelling Library) Powerpoint
Week 5: Tuesday 27th October
  • Roundtable Discussion: Approaches to Education of the Ancient World (Peter Gelling Library)
Week 6: Tuesday 3rd November
  • No Forum due to Reading Week
Week 7: Tuesday 10th November
  • Formal Debate (hosted by Phillip Myers and Meagan Mangum): the Ownership of History (Rodney Hilton Library)
Week 8: Tuesday 17th November
  • Ben Dewar: Kings With No Real Power (Rodney Hilton Library)
Week 9: Tuesday 24th November
  • MA/MRes Dissertation Presentations (Rodney Hilton Library)
Week 10: Tuesday 1st December
  • Victoria Schuppert: Religion and Revolution in Aristophanes' Birds (Rodney Hilton Library)
Week 11: Tuesday 8th December
  • Christmas Origins and Traditions. Followed by drinks, nibbles and christmas cheer! (Rodney Hilton Library)